Skinny is out fit is in

 

The most popular New Years Resolution is said to be weight loss. That is exactly why January and February are the best months for gyms in terms of revenue. Many of the people whose New Year Resolution is to lose weight remains committed for the first two to three months of the new year. After down, the attendance at every gym decreases. However, what is it the genuine motivation for people to want to lose weight ? Is it truly their health? A nice body? Or maybe attention?

Gym newcomers on 1st January

I don’t know if it’s just me, but it seems like eating healthy and being fit is in (more than ever before). It’s like a new trend for people between the ages 16 and 30. I mean gyms, protein shakes, and sports have always existed but I had not heard about them as much until now. Or maybe that’s because Facebook, Instagram, Twitter,  and other social medias did not exist tens years ago?

As a matter of fact I do believe that the existence of social medias has raised awareness about healthy  life styles. This may sound funny but I personally decided to change my eating habits and exercise even more shortly after making a Pinterest account. I’ve always been active but I must admit that my eating habits were not the best. For those of you unfamiliar with Pinterest, it is awesome! It has a section for just about anything you’re looking for. It has a section for health and fitness, beauty, art, history, humor and many more. As I was scrolling down the fitness section I read many inspirational quotes about being fit. There were also many excellent tips on healthy eating, workouts for different body parts, and before and after pictures of people who’ve turned their lives around by changing their lifestyles. In December of 2012 I signed up for a membership at Gold’s Gym along with my best friend because working out with someone can always motivate someone even more. Although it is difficult to balance school, work and the gym, I do my best to work out at least four times a week.

 I’ve been going to Gold’s gym for about a year and a half now and I can actually say that I have never taken a gym “selfie” or much less checked into the gym via Facebook. With that being said, there is nothing more annoying than going to the gym and  seeing people on their phones instead of focusing on their workout. Meanwhile on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and other social networks, there are people checking into the gym,  posting gym selfies, or telling everyone if it’s chest day, leg day or whatever. On the other hand, I believe there is another reason people got really into working out. That reason is fashion. With all these neon colored tennis shoes and sports bras it seems like the colorful exercising clothes of the 80’s are back in style. Regardless, no piece of clothing beats the popular “butt-hugging” yoga pants which some people claim are deceiving. There are also the people who abuse gym gear to appear athletic knowing they don’t even run around the block.   

aOqz23M_700b

 

 Eating healthy and becoming fit is in the best interest of everyone. Who doesn’t want to live a healthy life free from illness? It is not easy but it can be done. If you want to everyone know you’re going to the gym, or you want to take gym selfies, do it. BUT don’t let that distract you too much from actually “putting”  in work”. Remember, your body is your temple.

Leave a comment